Form a Arkansas Corporation
Form an Arkansas corporation, the right way, with LawInc. We are Arkansas incorporation experts and will make sure your Arkansas corporation complies with all requirements set forth by the Arkansas Secretary of State. Click “Order Now” to start your Arkansas incorporation now.
Incorporating in Arkansas
Incorporating in Arkansas can be vital to businesses based in Arkansas. At LawInc, we prepare your Arkansas corporation Certificate of Incorporation, bylaws, stock certificates, stock ledger and more. We can even obtain your Arkansas corporation Tax ID number and file your S corporation election with the IRS.
Arkansas Incorporation Information
The following Arkansas incorporation information will likely be helpful when deciding to incorporate in Arkansas.
Arkansas Corporation Name
The first step in forming an Arkansas corporation is selecting the business name. Arkansas corporation names:
- Must end with “Corporation,” “Corp.,” “Incorporated,” “Inc.,” “Limited”, “Ltd,” “Company” or “Co.”
- Cannot contain a words or phrase that indicates or implies that the corporation is organized for a purpose other than the purpose contained in its articles of incorporation and other than that permitted by Arkansas law.
- Must be unique from any other registered Arkansas LLC, corporation, limited partnership, or other Arkansas name reserved or registered on record.
An available Arkansas corporation name may be reserved for a 120-day period.
LawInc.com permits you to choose up to three names and will conduct a name search for your Arkansas corporation, prior to filing.
Arkansas Corporation Formation
Arkansas Corporation Filing Procedure: Submit duplicate executed copies of the Arkansas Articles of Incorporation along with a Certificate of Disclosure and an executed copy of the Consent of Statutory Agent.
Arkansas Corporation Publication: Publication is not required in Arkansas.
Arkansas Corporation Fees: Arkansas corporation filing fee is $50.
Arkansas Corporation Purpose Clause: The purpose clause of an Arkansas corporation may include a statement that the corporation is organized under the Arkansas Business Corporation Act for any lawful purpose and must state the primary purpose or purposes for which the corporation is organized, which is provided for informational purposes.
Arkansas Corporation Authorized Shares and Minimum Paid in Capital: There is no minimum or maximum number of authorized shares since state incorporation fees are not based on the share structure. There is no minimum amount of paid in capital required to commence business in Arkansas.
Arkansas Corporation Directors: The Arkansas corporation board of directors shall consist of one or more individuals, with the number specified in or fixed in accordance with the Articles of Incorporation or bylaws.
Arkansas Corporation Limitations of Directors’ Personal Liability: The articles of incorporation may eliminate or limit the liability of a director to the corporation or its shareholders for money damages for any action taken or any failure to take any action as a director, except (1) liability for the amount of a financial benefit received by a director to which the director is not entitled, (2) an intentional infliction of harm on the corporation or the shareholders, (3) unlawful distributions, and (4) an intentional violation of criminal law.
Arkansas Corporation Incorporator: Minimum number of Arkansas incorporators is 1 (“a natural person or entity”) and there is no requirement that the organizer be an Arkansas resident.
Arkansas Corporation Registered Agent: An Arkansas corporation must maintain a registered agent and office to receive service of process in Arkansas. The Arkansas registered agent should be available, at an Arkansas physical address, during normal business hours to accept important legal and tax documents on behalf of the Arkansas corporation.
Arkansas Professional Corporation: According to Arkansas law, professional corporations are formed to render services within a particularly licensed profession. Arkansas professional corporations are not permitted to engage in other businesses and comply with particular naming restrictions.
Arkansas Corporation Cumulative Voting: Cumulative automatically denied unless specifically granted.
Arkansas Corporation Post-Filing Requirements
Arkansas Corporation Annual Report: The Arkansas Secretary of State requires that Arkansas corporations file an annual franchise report every May 1st. The annual report costs $150.00 plus a $5.00 online transaction fee if filed online. Substantial penalties may apply after May 1. For more information, visit: https://www.ark.org/sos/franchise/index.php
Arkansas Corporate Minutes: Arkansas corporations are required to hold and document annual shareholder and director meetings.
Arkansas Corporation Taxes
Arkansas Corporate Net Income Tax Brackets:
For more Arkansas tax rate information, visit: http://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/Pages/default.aspx
Federal Tax Identification Number/Employer Identification Number (EIN): The Federal Tax Identification Number, also known as the Employer Identification Number (EIN) is a number that is assigned to a business by the Internal Revenue Service. An EIN is like a Social Security Number for a business. It is a requisite for certain business functions such as opening bank accounts or hiring employees. All corporations should obtain an EIN.
Arkansas Corporation Dissolution
Arkansas Dissolution Requirements: In order to dissolve an Arkansas corporation, Articles of Dissolution must be filed with the with the Arkansas Secretary of State. The fee for filing a Arkansas Articles of Dissolution is $50. The Articles of Dissolution must include the following: the Arkansas corporation name, the dissolution authorization date, the total number of shareholder votes cast, and either the number of votes in favor or against dissolution or the total number of undisputed votes in favor. The Articles must be signed by a corporate officer, who must also attest that the number of votes cast in favor of dissolution is a sufficient to authorize the dissolution.
Dissolution will not be accepted without filing a Final Franchise Tax Report. The dissolution will not be approved until all prior and current taxes are paid.
Federal/IRS Dissolution Requirements: Corporations are required to file IRS Form 966, Corporate Dissolution or Liquidation. A final tax return should be filed with the IRS. Form 966 should be filed along with the final tax return.